Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Home > breadcrumbs: Staff Information > breadcrumbs: Articles >


Ajax Loading Image


Indian Valley Vocational Center Awards Night

Indian Valley Vocational Center (IVVC) hosted its annual Awards Night on May 9, 2019, at Timber Creek Conference Center. Local and memorial scholarships were presented as well as recognition of SkillsUSA and HOSA award winners, and one and two year perfect attendance recipients. Recognition of graduating seniors with certificates of completion was the highlight of the evening. Several hundred family members and friends were in attendance to congratulate all of these students on their accomplishments.


Scholarships were awarded to the following students: Sandwich Rotary Club- Jayden Yarbrough (Yorkville); George Murphy Memorial-Trenton Cummings (Somonauk); John “Swanie” Swanson Memorial-Trenton Cummings (Somonauk); Doran Greif Memorial Auto Technology- Thomas Mullis (Hinckley Big Rock) and Alexander Paku (Serena);  Roy Wright Memorial Welding- Austin Benson (Serena); Nicholas Klema (Serena); Festival on Wheels/Tom Ciolek Memorial - Lee Baumgartner (Somonauk); Richard Wasson Memorial - Johnnathon Waszak (Somonauk) and Mason Douell (Sandwich); Dr. Lucile Gustafson - Drew Stralka (Leland); Student Service Award-Kaitlynn Boczko (Somonauk); Karam Family Memorial - Thorston West (Sandwich); and Connie Olson Memorial- Katie Deslitch (Sandwich).


One year perfect attendance certificates were awarded to 11 IVVC seniors. Two-year perfect attendance awards were presented to three students: Albino Rosales (Sandwich), Jack Thieme (Leland), and Thorston West (Sandwich).


Seniors from IVVC’s 17 career and technical programs were presented with certificates of completion. The following students were recognized as Most Outstanding in their programs:  Auto Body Repair - Trenton Cummings (Somonauk); Auto Technology - Joshua Crabbe, Cody Fitzgerald (Earlville), Cesar Lozada (Plano), Thorston West (Sandwich), Javen Williams (Yorkville); CNA - Kaitlynn Boczko (Somonauk); Computer Programming – Marcus Hadley (Paw Paw); Computer Technology - Riley Magnuson (Plano) and Katie Deslitch (Sandwich); Construction Trades - John Conrad (Sandwich), Sarah McHale (Sandwich); Cosmetology - Trinity Semler, Ana Schopp, Angela Feltz (Yorkville); Culinary Arts - Riley Oros (Paw Paw); Early Childhood Education - Kayleigh White (Sandwich), Emilia Arguijo (Hinckley Big Rock); EMT – Jordan Dobyns (Yorkville); Fire Science - Johnnathon Waszak (Somonauk); Graphic Design – Drew Stralka (Leland) and Kara Runyan (Hinckley Big Rock); Health Occupations – Sergio Rodriguez (Plano), Laila Ertz (Plano); Law Enforcement - Alexis Tipescu (Plano); Sports Medicine – Kaylee Diller (Sandwich) and Skyler Brue (Leland); Welding and Fabrication - Austin Fletcher (Newark); and Applied Mathematics - Lisa Rico (Earlville).


The following students were recognized as Most Improved in their program areas: Auto Body – Zachary Blasing (Serena); Auto Technology - Antonio Ramirez (Yorkville); CNA - Taylor Pavia (Sandwich); Computer Programming - Renee Lockman (Sandwich); Cosmetology - Ashley Rodgers (Serena); Culinary Arts - Uzziah Ruiz (Serena); EMT - Emma Dold (Sandwich); and Welding and Fabrication - Tyler Bateman (Somonauk).

Back To Top